It all begun with a meeting of two musicians who found that they shared the same musical vision. Those two were Daniel Magdic, who has a background as guitarist and composer of Pain of Salvation, and Magnus Karlsson. They teamed up with BjörnTauman and Mathias Henrysson to start the band Cudfish.

Cudfish was put to the grave when Magnus and Björn went to Los Angeles to study at LAMA (Los Angeles Music Academy).

When they got back from LA Daniel, Magnus and Björn decided to pick up the work and started Renaissance of Fools. They started to rehearse and write songs, but at the time they didn’t have a singer.

In 2008 they met the very talented singer Kjell Bergendahl and the line-up was complete. They soon started recording their debut album which was mixed by PelleSaether in Studio Underground. The mix was then sent to Alien Beans studio in USA where it was mastered by Ty Tabor of Kings X. The album also contains a guest appearance by Per Wiberg from Opeth.


Daniel Magdic (ex. Pain of salvation) – Lead Guitar, Vocals.
Magnus Karlsson (ex. Leech/Machina) – Drums.
Bjorn Tauman (Chainwreck, ex. Without Grief) – Bass, Vocals.
Kjell Sjostrom (Thalamus) – Guitar, Lead Vocals.